Picture
Paula Deen has been part of the Food Network family for a decade and is known for her traditional Southern cooking. Her television show began back in 2002 and is still existent.  It has become one of the best shows on television and one of my mom’s favorite cooking TV shows, Paula’s Home Cooking. Another famous food show and one of her most recent endeavors is Paula’s Best Dishes, which debuted in 2008 and has been a success. She has also written numerous cookbooks for audiences of all age groups.  One of her latest works is a  children’s cookbook titled: Lunch Box Set and her monthly published magazine Cooking with Paula Deen

Not everything has been a total success for Paula Deen. In addition to suffering with agoraphobia (panic attacks)at a very young age, she also had to deal with her husband leaving her and her two children. She also had to cope with the death of her parents before she was 23. Deen had to work hard in order to accomplish all her goals not only for herself but for her children. Having her children as motivation has led her to accomplish what she has today. Dedication and responsibility have been major factors that attribute to her success.

Paula Deen has expanded her horizons and created a webpage www.pauladeen.com in which she thoroughly elaborates her recipes for stay at home moms, school teachers, aspiring chefs, catering companies and many other audiences. It's a very accessible and easy to manage webpage. It's user friendly and is constantly updated with the changing holiday seasons to give readers new ideas. At the same time, it provides recipes and tips to bring to the kitchen. Deen’s shows are very educational.  They give insight on her cooking techniques and what ingredients to use.  These shows do not only target chefs and housewives as expected but also single men who live on their own. She is very thorough in explaining her recipes that even men can put it into practice. Deen has a section called “Kitchen Basics” where you can find all sorts of things like canning 101, how to set a table, and tips to make cooking an easy and enjoyable experience. One of my favorite sections is Dinner in 30 minutes which has quick and easy-to-make lists of recipes when you are short on time. She is very dedicated and is always providing new and creative recipes for upcoming holidays. Paula Deen not only makes gourmet food but also makes healthy and tasty menus for children. Your next meal is just a click away.  

As I was skimming through her website, I came across a section by the Deen Bros (Paula’s sons) which encourages healthy eating by cutting the fat and calories from Deen’s original recipes without taking away the flavor. Most people would think that these types of recipes are bland, given the fact that they use healthier ingredients that are reduced in fat and sometimes flavorless. I actually decided to take the challenge and cooked one of their renewed recipes. I cooked the Lighter Chicken Fried Steak for my family without telling them it was a reduced fat recipe. They substituted some ingredients and replaced them with things such as egg whites, fat-free milk and reduced-sodium chicken broth, with which were able to cut off 264 calories and 31g of fat from the original recipe. The recipe was a total success and my family did not even notice they were eating a healthier meal and since then, my mom and I try to look for healthier recipes to cook for the family.  

.


Amanda Solomon
10/22/2012 01:26:29 am

Just the name Paula Deen drew me in. I have been a fan of hers for years. Funny that a woman who is as loud and outspoken on her shows as she is suffered from these attacks. Having read her bio myself, I found this fact very interesting!! I cook for a family of six everyday, and I love to use Paula's recipes, but lately the health of my children and husband has become more important to me, so I had steered away from her meals. Though extremely great, the heaping amounts of butter and all the "good" things you love but shouldn't have seemed to undermine my attempts at healthy eating. While reading your blog, I came across your info on her sons' book, which I had not known about. I am definitely going to look into trying some of these revamped recipes for my family!!!

Reply
Adriana Salinas
10/22/2012 03:48:18 am

Hi, my name is Adriana Salinas and I am enrolled in the 12:00pm Technical Writing class. I enjoyed reading your blog because, even though I love to watch the "Food Network" channel I've never heard of Paula's life story. Thanks to your blog, I accessed her web page and discovered a lot of easy recipes. Since I work with kids it is very helpful. I am looking forward of trying some of these recipes with my kiddos!. Thank you.

Reply
10/23/2012 11:42:23 pm

Hello, my name is Dalia Guerra and I am in the 9am Technical Writing class. I love to watch Paula Deen cook. I like to see the results of what she is cooking. She does use more butter than is recommended but I am glad to hear about the healthier version of her recipes. I will definitely look forward to trying those recipes.

Reply
Claudia Chapa
10/23/2012 11:50:28 pm

Hello my name is Claudia Chapa and I am in the 9:00 tech writing class. I love Paula Dean her name alone got my attention. I love to watch her show when ever I can, her personality is out of this world. I found it sad and did not know about her husband leaving her and her two sons. She has seemed to make the best of it and know she is on top of the world.

Reply
10/24/2012 12:29:06 am

Hello my name is Ethan i am enrolled in the 9:00am tech writing class. I cam across your blog on your website and decided to read it. I really enjoyed your blog mainly because i know the person your writing about not personally of course but i have seen her show. Gotta be honest with you not my favorite cook on the food network, but she means well. I liked the fact that you tricked your family into eating a healthy meal if i learned anything from reading this blog is "Just Do It", if the family doesnt know it who can it hurt. I'm all for eating healthy, but your right a lot of healthy meals end up turning bland after a while of eating them, so this cook book that you mention in your blog is something that i will be looking into.

Reply
10/24/2012 12:46:38 am

Hi my name is Isaac Lopez I am an Animal Science Pre-Vet major with a minor in Chemistry and Biology. First off Just the name Paula Deen drew me to your blog. I love Paula Deen she is such a good and wonderful cook who has paved the way for many other chef in the industry. I love her style of cooking and have tried so many recipes of hers. Me and my mother love watching her show and get ideas for the holidays on what we should cook. Recently we tried some of her son’s recipes and enjoy them very well.

Reply
10/24/2012 12:49:54 am

Hello my name is Eric Mehlenbacher, i am a student in your tech writing class. i was drawn to your blog because between you and me i kinda have a little crush on Paula Deen. Have you ever heard the phrase "the way to a mans heart is through his stomach", well Paula Deen has my heart. I found your blog to be very well written. thanks for your information.

Reply
10/24/2012 02:52:13 am

Hello Mariana, I am Virginia Diaz de Leon and I was drawn to your organization because I love to cook and wanted to take a gander at the recipes your group put on their weebly page. I was drawn to your blog in particular because I love Paula Deen’s show and recipes. I did not know about the personal hardships she has endured. It is inspiring to know that she is such a success, regardless of her background. Hey, what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. I thought it was great you made a point to emphasize that her website now has healthy recipes and options, due to her recent bout with diabetes. I loved your blog. You did a great job.

Reply
Gilberto Villarreal
10/26/2012 07:08:15 am

My name is gilberto villarreal, your blog was very informative, what caught my attention the most was that she was a diabetic. This is to was very interesting because several of my family members are diabetic and this site has encouraged me to let my family know about these cooking styles. This can really help man people stay safe and healthy at the same time.

Reply
maribel garza
10/26/2012 07:11:12 am

Hello Mariana, my name is Maribel Garza I am a student in Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Your blog cought my atention because I have always heard of Paula Deen, and Ithought it was really intresting. Her show is really fun to watch, my mom always talks about the food channel, and how she always learns new recepies. Good blog mariana!

Reply



Leave a Reply.